Sounds of the heart. Whispers of the soul.

Eyes Behind The Burka

As I walked back home,
lost in thoughts of my own.
Ahead a figure walked towards me,
dressed in a burka, black.
Black like the eyes that looked at me.

Black eyes looking into my eyes brown.
Looking, reaching somewhere deep within.
Eyes that had a secret longing.
Eyes that had an unbearable yearning.

Eyes that held tears of an unknown plight.
Eyes that held dreams of a better life.
Eyes that knew dreams weren’t meant to be.
Eyes behind the burka that looked at me.

What was it like living behind a veil all your life?
Like the moon behind dark clouds every single night.
Trapped in a cell with only darkness and thee.
Eyes behind the burka that looked at me.

The look in the eyes will forever haunt me.
The simple questions always perplex me.
And next time, I’ll look down,
afraid forever to look into the eyes.
Eyes behind the burka that looked at me.

3 responses

  1. I find this a very interesting poem indeed.

    April 24, 2012 at 3:03 am

    • Thanks for the comments!!! Maybe I read too much in the eyes, but just always wonder what it is like living like this? Thanks again!

      April 24, 2012 at 9:07 pm

  2. January 29, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

